ArtDesignCulture

Product Review: Olympic Premium Interior Paint – Zero VOCs

In Environment(al) on May 4, 2010 at 9:19 pm

The smell of paint has never appealed to me. But neither has the completely beige color scheme of my apartment.

Finally, after a year and a decision to resign our lease, an accent wall was determined to be the best solution. Low-cost. Low-effort. Perfect.

About half of my paining experiences have involved headaches due to noxious fumes, so I decided to find a product with low or no volatile organic compounds (VOCs), which are those invisible creatures that crawl up your nose and make you unhappy, contributing generally to poor indoor air quality.

After a Google search, I found a bunch of products. However, none were easy to locate in my vicinity.

So I just called Lowes. The only environmentally friendly paint they carry is Olympic Premium, so that’s what I got.

I’ve been going through a teal phase this year, which hasn’t happened since 1994. I’m really digging it and the Aqua Bay color I settled on.

Review: Olympic Premium Interior Paint
Satin Finish – Aqua Bay

Pros:
No smell.
I literally can’t smell it at all unless I stick my face over the paint can, which if you will remember from basic chemistry, you do not do.

Cleanup.
It washes off with water and peels off my sink and fixtures.

Color.
Really love it. They have a lot more choices than I was expecting.

Cons:
Adhesive properties
Maybe this is a hallucination, but I felt like it took a little more effort or more paint to get the coverage I wanted. This could also definitely be due to the fact that I didn’t feel like priming (amateur I know). However, I still felt this way while applying the second coat.

This may be the result of different or less chemicals in the paint. My roommate Claire, a chemist, claims that chemicals are required to get anything done efficiently and properly. This is why I believe she uses acid in our bathtub.

Funnily enough, I do get away with using organic toilet bowl cleaner. Very important, I’m sure, since we never touch that part of the porcelain.

Coverage
Again, this could be due to human error or my miserly paint purchasing (I made a two quarts work for one wall), but coverage seemed less than perfect after drying. I’m waiting for the sun to come out before I finalize my position on this.

In General
Overall, I thought this was a great product. I paid about $25 for two quarts and a small sample of paint. My apartment looks a whole helluva lot better.

Other environmentally friendly products used (or so the packaging says):
Whizz Green recycled roller cover
biodegradable paint tray

  1. Olympic Premium: less coverage than ObamaCare and a shitty bra combined.

    …Wait for it…

    Ziiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing!

    But seriously, does this mean you’re in Gainesville?

Leave a Reply

