ArtDesignCulture

Future of Journalism Forum

In Spring 010 on January 28, 2010 at 4:49 am

Last night, I attended a forum on the future of journalism.

The topics ranged from new technology requirements to how the business has changed over the years.

But the most important was about my future.

I managed to get the last question in, and of course I wanted to know about what’s going to happen to me, not about the nebulous future of the media. Journalists young and old are along for the exciting ride and there’s no clearcut answer at this point, though lots of good discussion.

But back to me. Graduate school or no?

Mike Foley, master lecturer, partially or wholly responsible for Reporting hell, responded without hestitation. Two years of media experience is more valuable than anything in school.

Yeah, I retorted, but I feel like large organizations are more likely to hire people with a policial science degree or some specialization.

They hire people with good clips, he said. End of story.

Well, aye, aye, captain. Out into the world I shall go.

Leave a Reply

