ArtDesignCulture

“On a Day for Chinese Pride, Little Interest in Ideology”

In Uncategorized on October 20, 2009 at 1:34 am

Contrary to some thought I absorbed sometime around middle school, there are Chinese patriots who are not members of the Communist Party. And despite what I’ve been taught these past 22 years, it looks like China isn’t doing too shabby. Would I want to live there? I don’t think so. Is it the antithesis of humanity? I don’t think so either.

But it’s also interesting to consider that these patriots probably are in the same boat I am. They don’t believe they would want to live in America; China is all they have ever known. And reports of dissenters going missing has not affected me only. There is still some undercurrent of fear that citizens have to respect, no matter how patriotic they may consider themselves.

This kicker quote was particularly interesting and well-utilized by the writer:

“The party is doing a pretty good job of running the country, so we’re pretty happy with it,” Li Yuqian, a 30-year-old student at Capital Sports University, said as he munched French fries in a local McDonald’s. “But what we love is this country—and loving this country is very different thing from loving the party.”

He paused long enough to have second thoughts. “But don’t write that I don’t love the party,” he added. “O.K.?”

I think it’s also extremely interesting that the writer decided to print this. At first glance, I was worried that he was using a quote against the wishes of his source and possibly putting that person in danger. On reviewing it, nowhere does it say that this man does not love the party; it just says that the country and the party are not the same thing. While this isn’t blatant anti-Communist talk, it apparently toes the line enough to make him uncomfortable, which gives keen insight into the mental processes of citizens of China.

Leave a comment