ArtDesignCulture

“Off the Shelf, Onto the Laptop, Libraries turn to Digital Books”

In Uncategorized on October 20, 2009 at 8:30 pm

“People still think of libraries as dusty old books on shelves, and it’s a perception we’re always trying to fight,” said Michael Colford, director of information technology at the Boston Public Library.

I thought that was the draw of libraries, personally.

Finding old books, sitting in the stacks, enjoying the old paper smell. I don’t like straining my eyes to read on my laptop. If I don’t have to read on it; I don’t.

It’s actually a good idea to provide ebooks if there is a market for them, which there seems to be. As long as people are reading, I don’t care.

I guess I’m just writing this because I was insulted that libraries are trying to “fight” how they are perceived.

Libraries are like comforting old grandfathers. Yeah, they can be a little musty, but that’s part of the overall experience when spending time with a reservoir of knowledge that has persevered through the ages.

Leave a Reply

